c.zanetti@arbeausolutions.fr 06 82 18 55 43

Define and prioritize issues and actions needed for territory protection against flood risk while insuring to environment a sound ecological condition

Context

Since the early 20th century, the revegetation of slopes and the river engineering works started a dynamic of reclosing of the environment. The incision of streams, as a consequence to the reduction of sediment supply and emphasized by the samples of materials in small river beds, has generated important modifications to fluvial processes.

In parallel, the revegetation of dikes, dams and banks showed a diminution of the pressure and maintenance done by men. This translated into the modification of hydraulic conditions during water flow.

For security reasons regarding dikes and dams and for the proper functioning of fluvial environments, it is necessary to control plant colonization in anthropized areas.

Issues

The risks involved with the implantation of ligneous species on dikes and embankment dams were highlighted in research works, led by C. Zanetti, M. Vennetier, P. Mériaux in the Irstea laboratory. The rooting of trees generates phenomenons of external and internal erosion, linked to the development of living root systems and to woody roots decay.

If the impact of vegetation on dikes and dams is negative, it is generally beneficial on banks where plants help with stabilizing and protecting the grounds.

Therefore, the development of vegetation has to be controlled, so that the positive and negative aspects of it can be combined.

  • réseau entreprendre provence
  • BPI France
  • France Active
  • Pays d’Aix Développement
  • IRCE
  • Incubateur inter-universitaire IMPULSE

c.zanetti@arbeausolutions.fr 06 82 18 55 43

Expertise et conseil en gestion de la végétation implantée sur digues, barrages,
autres remblais et berges de cours d'eau.

Contexte

Depuis le début du 20 ème siècle, la revégétalisation des versants et l’aménagement des cours d’eau a amorcé une dynamique de refermement des milieux. L’incision des cours d’eau en conséquence de la diminution des apports sédimentaires, accentuée par les prélèvements de matériaux dans les lits mineurs, a généré d’importantes modifications des processus fluviaux.

Parallèlement, la végétalisation des digues, des barrages et des berges a traduit une diminution de la pression et de l’entretien effectués par les hommes. Ceci s’est traduit par la modification des conditions hydrauliques lors de l’écoulement des eaux.

Pour des raisons de sécurité des ouvrages hydrauliques et le bon fonctionnement des milieux fluviaux, il est nécessaire de maitriser la colonisation végétale des espaces anthropisés.

Problématique

Les risques que présentent l’implantation d’essences ligneuses sur les digues et les barrages en remblai ont été mis en évidence lors des travaux de recherche menés par C. Zanetti, M. Vennetier, P. Mériaux au sein du laboratoire Irstea. L’enracinement des arbres génère des phénomènes d’érosion externe et interne liés au développement des systèmes racinaires vivants et à la décomposition du bois racinaire.

Si l’impact de la végétation sur les ouvrages est négatif, celui-ci est généralement bénéfique sur les berges de cours où les végétaux offrent une protection et une stabilisation des sols.

Le développement de la végétation doit donc être maitrisé afin de conjuguer les aspects positifs et négatifs dont celle-ci est à l’origine.

  • Pôle risques
  • réseau entreprendre provence
  • BPI France
  • France Active
  • CIC
  • Pays d’Aix Développement
  • IRCE
  • Incubateur inter-universitaire IMPULSE